Skip to content

sakura

April 22, 2010

EDIT: I think thisisnaive didn’t take to well to me reposting her pictures and blocked them from my post. So I took the liberty of removing the broken links and images. Sorry dudes!

So many people seem to be revelling in the Northern Hemisphere’s glorious spring season.

But I’m not jealous. So what if bloggers keep posting vibrant photos of flowers in bloom? So what if my friends have wound their clocks forwards but I’ve wound mine back? So what if I keep getting animated emails about summer holiday plans? So what if I’m on a high speed train headed towards another unceremonious winter?

OKay, maybe I’m a little jealous.

I don’t have much of an excuse to whine about winter. Living in Sydney makes me pretty lucky as far as the weather. Winter only lasts two and a half months. And it doesn’t get much colder than 8°C ( for those of you using a non-metric system to calculate the temperature that’s roughly 46° Fahrenheit).  And it’s only really cold in June and July.

Still, we poor begotten souls in the Southern Hemisphere are a little time away from being surrounded by flowers in bloom. In the meantime these images of Spring do a pretty good job of sufficing.

(via fieldguided. More gorgeousness here and here.)

(via abbytrysagain. More of these film shots here and here.)

(via sandrajuto. See the series here.)

Brian Ferry has some great shots of cherry blossoms too here but he wants me to ask before I post his photos. I couldn’t be bothered this time, so I posted a link instead.

There’s something so whimsical about cherry blossoms, don’t you think? My husband and I were in Japan about six weeks ago at the very beginning of the cherry blossom season. And if you compare cherry blossom season to a pregnancy, we were in Japan for the embryonic stage of the Sakura Festival. Not the foetus and most definitely not the birth. Check out some of my snapshots below.

Outside the Kiyomizudera Temple, Kyoto

Outside the Kiyomizudera Temple, Kyoto

Outside the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa

Ah, Nippon. I love you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

